The Third Phase – Service Transition

This is a follow-up to last week's ITIL V3 post on the subject of Service Design.

Service Transition simply involves taking all the good work you did in the Service Design Phase and transferring this to a new or changed service which is available to your customers.

ITIL® defines the scope of Service Transition as follows

“a service transition includes the management and coordination of the processes, systems and functions required for the building, testing and deployment of a ‘release’ into production, and establish the service specified in the customer and stakeholder requirements.”

The processes involved in the Service Transition phase are:

  • Change Management
  • Service Asset and Configuration Management
  • Release and deployment Management
  • Service Validation and Testing
  • Evaluation
  • Knowledge Management

Again many of these processes will be familiar to you from V2, but let’s have a quick review….

Change Management – this should be a very familiar one for most of you. Change management exists to allow us to handle changes in a repeatable manner and ensure that the risk to the business is minimised. Change Management should address all service changes - described by ITIL® as:

“A Service Change is the addition, modification or removal of an authorised, planned or supported service or service component and its associated documentation.”

Service Asset and Configuration Management (SACM) – this process has the goal of identifying, controlling and accounting for service assets and configuration items.

Activities involved in SACM are

  • Management and planning
  • Configuration identification
  • Configuration Management
  • Status accounting and protection
  • verification and audits

Release and Deployment Management – This process is involved with the building, testing and deployment of the services specified during the Service Design phase and the early life support of these services.

Service Validation and Testing – This process is aimed at ensuring that the new or changed service actually does provide what it is supposed to and that it is “fit for purpose”.

Evaluation – This is a generic process, it aims to verify that performance is acceptable. This process provides valuable input to the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) process.

Knowledge Management – Knowledge management is important to every phase of the lifecycle, but it is of particular importance in the Service Transition Phase. A successful transition from Design to Deployment depends greatly on the quality of information available to users and the Service Desk.